100GB Game Downloads Aren't the Problem, Predatory Data Caps Are

The leap to 4K is happening as internet service providers are quietly restricting what customers can download.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://waypoint.vice.com/en_us/article/a3z5db/100gb-game-downloads-arent-the-problem-predatory-data-caps-are

Predatory data caps definitely are a problem. I think the ever-higher-resolution train is going to run into an infrastructural problem that will force it to be kept at a normal-ish level or ratcheted down. There is already a base of people who can’t easily access digital games because of poor network infrastructure in their area or region, but data caps are likely to expand that.

(I am also not a network engineer! If someone with more knowledge wants to chime in to lay out reasons beyond “telecoms make more money”, I’d be happy to hear them.)

I really wish games provided download options. Even with fast internet (and plenty of places are on ADSL not fibre still - not fast when it comes to 100GB downloads) then I don’t need the assets for Doom’s multiplayer and definitely don’t need the added content in the huge MP patches. I’ve got 8GB of VRAM and a 4K screen but sometimes I’m just taking a glance at a game and I don’t need uncompressed, full res textures for the entire world. I never need uncompressed audio, give me the compressed stuff and I’m fine (I care way more about good positional audio using my 5.1 than avoiding the slight degradation from lossless compression or no compression [yuk - compress that in transit/pak files friends, even if the game engine wants uncompressed audio for very short clips]). Often Steam games do that via the top texture tier (or the uncompressed versions that require more VRAM than the DXTC variants) being a free DLC.