A Fighting Game Thread: For Beginners to Veterans

Fighting games took me a long time to wrap my head around, but once I did, it lead to some of the most satisfying and memorable gaming experiences I’ve had. I’ve been playing fighters for around 10 years now, and I get so much joy out of watching folks pick up the hobby and seeing it start to click for them. Sharing that experience with fellow Waypoint fans would be radical.

So, that said, is anybody interested in playing and/or chatting about fighting games together? I’d be thrilled hear about games you’ve been playing lately, games you’ve been interested to break into, barriers that have made fighters feel difficult to enter, or anything else you’d like to talk about! Regardless of skill level or experience, I’d love to hear any thoughts, musings, or questions that y’all have.

I always found fighting games very hard to get into, probably because of the reliance on combos. This is why my favorite fighting game is Bushido Blade, fights were very fast and often hinged on a pivotal weapons swing or just the right timing. I remember a friend and I killing each other at the same time in a fight it was hilarious and confusing.

Other fighting games I have enjoyed are One Must Fall, mostly for music and style reasons and War of the Monsters. Not sure if War exactly counts as a fighting game in the traditional sense, but fights that bring down cities and being able to use environmental weapons were cool elements in that game.

I did enjoy watching Salty Bet for a while, the chaotic ridiculousness of that stream is good fun.