A Poetry Thread, for Talking about...Poetry

This is a thread for talking about poetry that you’re reading or have read.

All discussions of poetry and poetics are welcome, whether you’re into contemporary poets or just the older stuff.

I’m an MFA student in poetry, so poetry is basically my life as well as my hobby.

I’m primarily interested in contemporary poetry that’s on the experimental side. One recent book I read was Garments Against Women by Anne Boyer.

What are y’all reading?

I haven’t actually read a lot of poetry (ever) but have been wanting to try and get invested in reading some. Would you have any suggestions on a good place to start?

Oh I posted this before but I’m really into Li-Young Lee at the moment. Currently still reading/thinking about Behind My Eyes, though I carry Book Of My Nights anywhere I go and pull it out for moments when I need quiet/calm. Right now I’m eagerly awaiting my copy of Monica Youn’s Blackacre (I’m actually just slowly picking up the William Carlos Williams Award winners heh).

Personally, I started on more contemporary stuff by listening to The New Yorker Poetry podcast and browsing the poetry section at my local library. Kinda lucked out that I really liked the first things I checked out in both cases–Merwin’s A Single Autumn and Ondaatje’s The Cinnamon Peeler.

But anyway, for variety I’d say definitely take a look at magazines. Currently I have the archives at Muzzle, THRUSH, and Rattle bookmarked. Poetry Foundation is a bit of a rabbit hole if you have time.

Thank you so much! I’ll check these out :slight_smile:

Lately, I’ve been reading the works of Mallarmé and Baudelaire. I usually only read older stuff because I honestly don’t know much about contemporary authors, so the links posted in this thread already will be of great use to me. Thanks.