Academic journals are screwed up

From other threads, I’ve seen quite a few people who are in grad school or engaging in research. I’m a researcher at a university engaged in a bunch of different projects related to simulation (medical and driving). Every time I try to submit a paper to a journal I hate it. The formatting requirements are all different, word counts are very small for some journals, and it takes forever for me to get the reviews back. Then, when you get the reviews, the reviewers either don’t seem to have read all of your manuscript or they give contradictory advice.

Anyway, here’s a thread for people to complain about academic journals. I think they, in general, are way too expensive for the amount of service that they provide to the academic community. I would love to hear other people’s experience with them.

Preprints will save us all.

Don’t even get me started on how the whole publishing industry is a racket and how open access is the only ethical choice but also very expensive

I’ve only ever gotten one of my things published and it was surprisingly low hassle. Everywhere else you have to jump through all these hoops to get it ready and they turn it down and you’ve wasted hours.

I wish you could just send them content and if they like the content and want to publish it then you have to format it. But so much of academia is jumping through hoops just because the people who got to the top had to jump through hoops so they think you should do the same.

And then if you do get published, your article is stuck behind some paygate that only libraries can afford to buy into meaning the only people reading your article are other academics, probably students, and it’s just this elite, gated pool of knowledge. I hate that.