An 8-Year Opiate Addiction Fueled His Love for Games. Now, He's Quitting

Games have helped (and hindered) Larry's addiction for nearly a decade, but he wants to be a better father, a better partner. He's just not sure what it means for his favorite hobby.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://waypoint.vice.com/en_us/article/qvpyam/an-8-year-opiate-addiction-fueled-his-love-for-games-now-hes-quitting

I’m glad to hear that this story looks like it’s looking up for Larry and I hope that, as he said he wanted to do, that his story can be a beacon of hope for others who are recovering from opiate addictions. I am far from a drug policy expert, but I definitely can see where games would be helpful for weathering some of the difficulties around withdrawal. A game like MGSV, which does sort of consume your brain in its complexities, can pull you into the world and give you some breadcrumbs.

As said above, I’m not an expert on this. But I thought Klepek did a really good job on writing a balanced and sympathetic account of Larry’s difficulties. Good work, boss!

This is a great story and excellent work from Patrick. I did get excited initially and hope that Michael Clune’s work would make it into this article as he has written some incredible books and articles about addiction and gaming: Gamelife, White Out, and this article for Vice, “How Computer Games Helped Me Recover from My Heroin Addiction”.