Any Recommendations on Non-XBox PC Controllers?

I’ve been using a PS3 controller for my PC for the past 8 years and I think the darn thing is finally dying on me, so I’m in the market for a new one. Controllers from Microsoft consoles tend to hurt my hands, so does anyone have any good experiences with controllers meant exclusively for the PC?

Not sure if you’re aware but Dualshock 4s can work great on PC.

If you’re not opposed to customising control schemes and putting in a little leg-work depending on the type of game you’re playing, I definitely recommend the Steam controller. The dedicated subreddit is fantastic for support and a general overview, if you’re interested.

If you’re using Steam then it automagically converts DirectInput (the old standard for all joystick etc that Sony still uses for their pads) to XInput (the new Windows standard MS introduced with the 360 for newer games) so basically any controller should work really well as long as you’re able to cope with button prompts that usually now assume you’re using a 360 pad (a handful of games do have official PS icons too, some mods exist to add them in other games, but it’s not the norm). I assume, as you’re used to a DS3, that you’re fully versed in this stuff and so that’s not a major factor (some 3rd party controllers use one standard, some use the other - it can make a difference to some users who just want something that always just appears like a 360 pad without needing something to act as an interface). My experience of PC-only controllers has generally been things feeling like cheap 360 clones on the whole, which is not really where I want to go (as a 360 wired feels fine to me up until the point where my nails scratch the rubber off the top of the sticks).