Back to the future - Freedom Fighters

Testing the waters here, so please bear with me :wink:
One of the few games that I regularly come back to is Freedom Fighters by IO Interactive. Just two weeks ago, I started playing it a bit, only to find myself hooked again and progressing through it in a breeze until Governor’s Island (it is not really hard).
In retrospect, I was never really into IO Interactive’s offerings (Hitman et al), but this definitely struck a chord with me.

Thinking about it, the strong points I see are summarized in “Impressions” (if you know that all and want to get to the meat of my talking points, please skip to TL;DR)

Impressions

Gameplay/Mechanics
It’s a tactical TPS, where you guide your squad with three simple commands: follow, attack, defend.
Looking at most of the gameplay vids, it seems people just ignored giving commands, went in head-on with their squad (they fight on their own when being attacked) and were done with it (absolutely feasible, since again: it is not that hard). And maybe it is an oversight of the game’s design that it doesn’t “punish” you more in that approach.
But since positioning comes so natural, I for one make as much use of that (simple, but imo very accessible) command system as possible: positioning them in cover, spreading out squad on both sides of streets, leaving them to defend high-ground with good vision, sending them to attack while providing cover, etc. After some practice it becomes very fluid switching through your squad, distributing commands and resetting it all.
The AI isn’t flawless, but absolutely up to the tasks (taking cover behind obstacles, operating stationary machine guns, reacting to unexpected enemies, etc.). Things just seem to work out as intended.