Coding my own video game

Hello everyone. I feel huge passion towards gaming, but being a long time gamer I’ve started feeling as if my passion has long time ago crossed what games have to offer. Im playing for like my whole life (for good or for bad) and I dont know how people can be enertained by what’s currently in Steam and similar places. Maybe its because Im playing games for such a long time.

Since few years ago I’ve started thinking about making my own game and even used eclipse engine and the like (they were cool indeed but only thing i know how to do is how to make map with one of the tools that was attached). Perhaps these things are great but I failed to make a game with them in the end.

I know some coding, but only simple things and very basics. So heres my question to you guys, does anyone know how to code my own game for PC? Preferably 3D game (i just hope advanced math isnt needed). Im total beginner so if anyone here knows how to start then id appreciate if he shared.

If you want to make a 3D game, Unity’s probably the most used game engine for that. They have some pretty good tutorials for how to use it also: https://learn.unity.com

They have a course for how to code in Unity here. I haven’t used it but just taking a glance at it it seems like a decent place to start.

There’s also a pretty good game development thread from a couple of years ago which in the first post lists a ton of game development tools:

So, my advice is to look at something like Unity too. You have a bunch of options for scripting, from simpler languages up to C#, and there’s plenty of basic projects to build on if you aren’t confident starting from scratch

I also agree with Unity. There are a ton of very good video tutorials, and lots of good free to cheap assets for common tasks.