Confronting serving staff responsibly and not being That Person

I have extensive experience in customer service, having worked at coffee shops, retail stores and, currently, a call centre—meaning that I know how rotten those kinds of jobs can be. The pay is bad, benefits occasionally nonexistent, and nowadays it’s harder to work your way up the ranks. Plus you have the emotional labour of having to put on a smile while the occasional irate customer, justifiably or not, rants at you.

So how do you go about addressing poor service while recognizing that those folks probably aren’t having a good day themselves and without getting them in trouble and risking them losing their only source of income?

I ask because, over the last couple days, the service at the Tim Horton’s near my work has just been bad—incorrect order taken down and/or getting lost in the shuffle of a rush, staff frequently confusing one item for another, super long wait times, etc. How do I get them to be more on the ball without being That Freaking Customer?

I just take the bad service and stop going to that place.
I much prefer places that are self-serve and I’d like to bring up the bigger issue that the tipping-system is so horrible for everyone involved. I hate the tipping-system so much; businesses should pay their employees.

Most of the time, I’m like @Clyde. Once or twice, I just let it go. More than that, I just stop going to that place.

The exception is when the server messes up on a gluten free order (I have Celiac). When that happens, I just try to stick to facts. “Sorry, but I asked for gluten free. I can’t eat this or I’ll be sick for days.”

Then I hope when they bring out the correct order they haven’t spit in it.

Btw, worst “that guy” I’ve seen was one of my wife’s coworkers, who once sent back their water with lemon (they specifically requested the lemon) because it had a seed in it.

Oh that’s easy, I don’t. if I ordered fries and got onion rings I eat those onion rings.