Crosswords taught me why people enjoy Dark Souls

25 Across: Playing music you’ve never practiced. 12 letters.
… Noodling? No
… Amateur–no

Sightreading! Christ.

I was never one for crossword puzzles. I found the ambiguity of the clues frustrating and whenever an answer is partially completed my mind refuses to open up and see more than a few examples that clearly don’t fit.

When the folks on Waypoint Radio started talking about doing the daily crosswords on the New York Times website, I was intrigued. I’m a writer, I like words, I like clever wordplay. Maybe I should give it a try? I watched Chris Remo’s excellent YouTube videos. I decided to start with the free daily crossword puzzles on dicionary.com

6 Down: Put in a worse position? 6 letters.

… Demote? Oh $%&@ you that’s not clever.

It didn’t take me long to get accustomed to the specific lingo of crossword puzzles. Lots of American culture (which as a Canadian is frustrating but not impossible), the occasional French of Spanish word. The same celebrities that appear because of the letters in their names (Ringo Starr, for one). The way a question mark hints at a pun, the way you have to pay attention to tense and plurals and whether the clue uses abbreviations.

I’ve bounced off of Bloodborne and Dark Souls several times. I get frustrated. I find the worlds fascinating but the fights too many and too lethal. I can’t keep all the move sets and tactics in my head at once.

But when I hear what other people get out of them: the mastery, the discipline, the earned victories, that’s how I feel when I finally beat a crossword puzzle. I put up with puns and wordplay that seems obtuse until it isn’t. I fill in enough letters on unfamiliar geographical locations until I can make a guess. I try to remember the puzzle’s theme to give me a step up.

34 Down: Baldwin or Guinness. 4 letters.
… Alec?
45 Down: Baldwin or Guinness. 6 letters.
Actors! Oh, that is clever.