DeepMind's 'StarCraft' Victory Was as Worrying as It Was Impressive

At the risk of underselling everything that preceded it, the real Oh Shit moment of DeepMind’s StarCraft II demonstration didn’t arrive until the ninth game.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://waypoint.vice.com/en_us/article/wjmj84/deepminds-starcraft-victory-was-as-worrying-as-it-was-impressive

I’m no expert here, but I’m having trouble seeing how stalker blink micro differs from say, an aimbot in an fps? There are some impressive things going on here (how good it is at judging engagements stands out to me), but I feel like it’s being propped up by something computers are just naturally good at. Am I missing something here?

No, and I think the casters and players sort of agreed? If you don’t somehow limit the ‘cameras’ and inputs the AI makes, then this is a lot less interesting.

Seeing it play DotA (I think it was the same AI?) made more sense, since there’s already some limitations to what can be done with more input, but when what you primarily end up highlighting is ‘computers can react faster than humans’ it’s sort of a ‘well, yeah, duh’. Which is a shame, because there is something inherently interesting about the simulation aspect itself, which drowns in the ‘real good at stalker micro’ talk.

Like the ‘is oversaturating workers better?’ question is really interesting for instance.

Even looking at pure micro, this is at least a lot more advanced than a simple aim bot. After all, aimbots with perfect accuracy have existed for decades, but this level of skill in an AI for more nuanced tactical movement is quite new. It’s also important to point out that this wasn’t something hard-coded into the AI itself, but rather something it learned to do through experience.