Do you like hiking and camping and other nature activities? I sure do!

I was a Boy Scout as a kid. I did it just to camp and only did the fun merit badges and never ranked up. My dad loved camping, too, so it became an important (but fairly infrequent) part of my childhood. Then my parents got divorced, I started high school, and stopped doing outdoorsy stuff until after I graduated college.

For the past two years, I’ve been hiking more and more and even fit in a few camping trips here and there. It’s an activity my wife and I do together about once a week. We don’t share any other hobbies so I really value it in our relationship. Finally we’ve saved up enough money that we can buy some cheap camping equipment (you can pick up solid two person tents for like ~$100) to start going much more frequently. We live in NE Ohio, and there are lots of great parks and trails nearby, including a national park. Hopefully we’ll be able to fit in some trips to northern Michigan next year.

Does anyone else here enjoy the outdoors? Other outdoor stuff (kayaking, climbing, etc) is welcome too!

I love the outdoors! Growing up in Texas was a drag because so much of where we loved was private land. Now living in Utah there’s a ton of public land all around.

My wife and I really enjoy hammock camping. It’s so much more comfortable than sleeping on the ground, and there’s less to pack. I highly recommend that everyone who camps try it once.

I also love fly fishing. I tie my own flies and always release the fish. It’s a spiritual activity for me, it’s nice to be alone in the mountains, wading in water, and being extra mindful of my activities within nature.

1 Like

I live between a lake and a meadow so I feel like I’m surrounded by nature anyway. I bought some skates a few years back because I wanted to get more active (I play volleyball once a week but it’s not a very intensive group of competitors). I broke my elbow after an hour due to some bad ice.