Does anyone else design games for fun, without actually making them?

I, like millions of others and probably every single person on this website, have a lot of ideas for games that I think would be interesting and novel. Unfortunately, I have no dev experience, and the games I’m thinking up are beyond the scope of a solo project anyway. I made a resolution this year to start committing these ideas to paper - I want to make the most professional and intensive game design document I can, really JUST to get the idea out of my head. This includes all game mechanics, story, writing, and art. I’m wondering, has anyone else done this for fun?

I’ve found some great resources for putting something like this all together, but it seems like every community for game design and development is for mutual help with coding, asset creation, and other hands-on things. So I’m wondering if anyone else puts effort like this into pipe-dream games, and if there’s any discord or community out there to dish about game mechanics and whatnot in the abstract?

I grew up in a community making fan games, and now as an indie developer trying to make their first real game, I feel like I probably shouldn’t think about fan games anymore. But if we’re being honest, if it was at all possible for me to remain financially stable, legally, I would probably just make fan games for the rest of my life. Honestly, it’s a lot of fun.

I do have a few design documents I’ve written for games I’ll never get to make because of licensing deals or whatever. They’re more like outlines, really, but it’s just a place to channel those thoughts.

I’m not sure about this. I think a lot of people seem to turn pipe dream ideas into 15 year indie projects.

Personally, I started designing board games.