Grad School Existential Crisis

I need someone to talk to.

I think this was about not continuing on?

Not enough time in the world to worry about school if it’s not something you are getting value out of. It does depend on the field a bit; but I left grad school without finishing a few months back so I could take a full time position. No plans to go back. I don’t want that to color the normal experience though; just where I am coming from.

Just remember that it’s about finishing the degree; not perfection. Let your professors know what is difficult now; strive for health above perfection; and network as much as you can. Think of yourself about 9 months later – would future you be upset at the decision you made now?

What’s going on? I graduated last year and might be able to help, though I can’t say for sure.

I’m doing a PhD program and have less than one year of funding left. It’s pretty tough, my research is way behind schedule

This sounds very familiar to me. I’ve got funding until September 2018. I’ve yet to publish my first journal paper. I wanted to do a control systems PhD and I’ve been bogged down in system modelling for the first two and a half years. I just don’t find it interesting and have a lot of trouble just gritting my teeth and doing it. It’s my own fault but it’s still frustrating.

Thinking about it is actually depressing, I kinda feel like a failure. I was doing extremely well in undergrad. How did it end up like this :disappointed:

Yeah, that’s very similar to me. I do have one paper published but think it’s pretty bad. I also did very well in undergrad. The PhD has been very humbling for me. And like you, I could have done better if I had hunkered down and just done things. I’ve gone months at a time not getting anything done :confused: