Has a Patch Ever Changed Your Experience With a Game?

The recent Atlas Rises update has transformed 'No Man's Sky' from a chill exploration game into a story-driven, sci-fi mystery.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://waypoint.vice.com/en_us/article/wjjx9w/has-a-patch-has-ever-changed-your-experience-with-a-game

I remember playing Oblivion I was doing a exploit that allowed you to make multiple items by hitting it with arrows before they patch it out. After that I started playing the game properly by saving money and work my way to things I wanted and it was a much more rewording experience.

I just remember. Kerbal Space program changed alot from when I first started playing it when it was just a single engine. By 1.0 it had different engine, flight structures, budget management, robot ships to fly, and so much more.

Not exactly the same but I didn’t have this game, then the patch came out and various podcasts talked positively on it so (coupled with a company selling it for a tenner) I bought it at the end of last week. I don’t think a patch has ever led to me buying a game before.

I’d say that each of Terraria’s major patches essentially added a whole new game onto the base experience, and the fact that they were all free was nothing short of incredible; undoubtedly the best post-game support I’ve ever seen

Warframe on multiple occasions over the years, but primarily on a mechanical play-style extent.

When movement 2.0 came out, it completely changed where you could go in a level. Previously, traversal was done with a method called “coptering”. It was a dash, slide, melee attack that launched you across the map. It took a while to aim with it. But with movement 2.0 the combo changed to dash slide jump jump, which added a previously unrealized accuracy allowing you to reach the map extents and climb areas previously accessible.