I am going to get a rogue-like/lite/whatever on my Switch. It will be my first in the genre. I am not good at games. I clearly need help

Hello.

I am not great at games. I used to be good, but I am getting old now and don’t have the reflexes I once had. I also have a young baby keeping me up all hours, so my thought processes are also not what they were. Where I once would start a game on hard, I now am on default difficulty levels, and due to my limited gaming time I am loathe to get stuck on a level repeatedly (as an example, I really liked Sonic Mania until Flying Fortress, where I died four times and could not face going through that first act a fifth time so have not been back. I know it’s good, but Mario and the Rabbids keep calling and I can actually advance in that game currently.)

With that set-up in mind, I have been thinking about getting a Rogue-like/lite (dunno the difference, not really bothered) game for a while. I have a holiday coming up in a few weeks, and the Boy may give me a few hours over the week to really give one of these a shot (alongside Rabbids of course) They have been doing the rounds for several years now and I have always avoided them, and I feel I should give one of them a spin.

I was in the Neurovoider AMA a few days back and those guys seemed cool, and they specifically addressed the difficulty in this genre of games and said they felt it was an average challenge for gamers. So I am tempted by that, which is out today along with Binding, but there is actually a fair few games out there in the genre (though I appreciate they may not be the typical rogue-like games).

My research/answers from other people have so far got me to this list, in order of likely purchase:

Neurovoider - Not as hard as the others, not the most expensive game in the world as a tester. Seems to have generated some excited buzz for its Switch release. Chaps on the Reddit AMA seem thoroughly decent and plan to release free updates in the future