I Keep Playing Puzzle Games, Like 'Gorogoa,' Even Thought I Want to Cheat

Open Thread is where Waypoint staff talk about games and other things we find interesting. This is where you'll see us chat about games, music, movies, TV, and even sports, and welcome you to participate in the discussion.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://waypoint.vice.com/en_us/article/mbp3gp/i-keep-playing-puzzle-games-like-gorogoa-even-thought-i-want-to-cheatd

Gorogoa was basically the perfect level of puzzle game for me, I think (also my boyfriend and I played it together, which I think helps - you can bounce ideas off each other and each remember different things) but generally speaking, I’ve only relatively recently come to terms with the fact I’m not very good at puzzle games.
Seeing my friends on twitter talking about spending an hour on an opus magnum solution and I… would never have the patience, I couldn’t do it. I’d start the game, enjoy the first few levels, and get frustrated once it actually got challenging. I know I would. That’s how these games always go, for me.

please give me baby puzzles, for babies. thanks.

I have a similar relationship with puzzle games, and hearing your struggles with the Witness is a bit reaffirming. I wanted to enjoy that game so badly, and in theory, I loved the premise of teaching myself the mechanics.

In practice, I spent over an hour trying to figure out a puzzle that required aligning tree branches against a perspective properly. I was so sure I had the right solution, but I finally gave in and searched up the solution only to find out that I had the right idea with an imperfect angle.

The Talos Principle really gripped me without similar frustrations, however, frequently layering on mind-bending solutions with a far more interesting framing device of the cheeky philosophy-spouting AI. Perhaps a compelling shell is the main driving force behind keeping me away from cheating?