Ideal "Mania" Revivals and Ideal Staff

Now that Sonic Mania is here and quite good, let’s indulge the fantasy that this will make other companies take notice, or make SEGA follow it up, and create more fan-driven retro revival projects.

What game would you most love to see a “Mania” of?

Which fans, indie creators, or original game staff would you most love to see involved in that particular Mania?

I’d love to see a DKC Mania, one last adventure in the DKC trilogy’s worlds with whatever today’s technology can do for that fake 3D style, and David Wise on the soundtrack. Returns and Tropical Freeze just didn’t do it for me.

SEGA, if you’re watching, I would love to work on a Streets of Rage Mania, I’m a professional composer with multiple credits on shipped titles and ᴘʟᴇᴀsᴇ ᴊᴜsᴛ ʟᴇᴛ ᴍᴇ ᴅᴏ ɪᴛ ᴘʟᴇᴀsᴇ

Even though I enjoyed DKC Returns & Tropical Freeze, I could definitely go for another SNES-like one. Since at least the Gamecube days, Donkey Kong’s overall vibe got significantly less British and lost a lot of the weird humor, like the Kremlings’ attitude, Diddy Kong’s bad hip-hop style and Cranky’s crankiness.

Back in Sega’s court… I’ve always had an affinity for Bonanza Bros. that extends beyond the actual gameplay? A co-op side-scrolling heist game would be rad. But I guess that’s more of a reboot than a “Mania”.

Crazy Taxi, maybe? Bump us back down to Dreamcast graphics, update the featured #brands, license some more Offspring, and you’re off to the races! With a looser open-world structure that works better outside arcades.

I was just playing Bonanza Bros in an arcade a month ago and thinking “why hasn’t anyone ripped this off!?!”. Super fun gameplay.

EDIT: Actually I guess “Not a Hero” was kind of similar? But wasn’t nearly as cute and didn’t have the same pace.