Illustrative Games & Hidden Gems

Hi there! I’m new to Forums in general, even newer here to Waypoint, and a little overwhelmed by the numerous choice of threads and discussions, so I thought I would try starting my own thread?

Browsing through I couldn’t quite find an active topic on what I was thinking, but correct me if I’m wrong!

Here goes!

:star2: :star2: :star2:

Games being capital ‘a’ Art is undeniable, but visual styles in games can vary wildly in taste, mood, and execution; they can even often be the reason we pick up a game at all!

I personally love games that are heavy on painterly textures, low on polys, and try to make things look like illustrations come to life. As an artist myself, I get asked a lot about inspirations, and I end up pointing to a lot of unheard (or at least largely unplayed) games. So, my question to ya’ll is:

:pencil2:What are some games that have captivated you with their art styles alone?

:pencil2:Are there any games out there that you think have been passed over for their gameplay, but slept on despite their amazing visuals?

:pencil2:If you’re an artist, dev, or writer, what are some games that inspire you and your work from a visual, illustrative aspect?

Feel free to share screenshots of these games (I think?)! Also, this topic is meant to be inclusive towards concept art, graphic design and ui/ux design - anything visually inspirational!

Here are a couple of mine!

Magical Starsign is a pretty recent inspiration (I only just picked it up 2 years ago) but is an absolutely cute and amazing game that I never hear about!

Tales of Vesperia (and Abyss and Symphonia) is one of the most apparent of my inspirations, and the only reason I bothered turning on my xbox360 for 6 years (I play this game at least once a year, bless mighty earth for the port).

Radiata Stories is the Most Slept On game of all time and I finally got my hands on a copy this year (lost mine a decade ago)