It's Worth Keeping 'Red Dead Redemption 2' at a Distance

This is the second letter in our series about Red Dead Redemption 2. You can read Austin's first letter here.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://waypoint.vice.com/en_us/article/mbyqnq/its-worth-keeping-red-dead-redemption-2-at-a-distance

this letter series is a really excellent way to work through something like RDR2. it feels nuanced and serious and i’m really enjoying reading it. i don’t have much to add (i haven’t played it!) but it gets five bags of popcorn from me, martin.

This opening reminds me of the issues I had playing GTAV. I started playing after taking a break from a non-lethal run in MGSV and the opening mission just felt so antagonistic to the way I would play a game, or choices I would make IRL, that I very nearly stopped playing there and then.

It felt like the designers intended it to be such a moment, where you had to kill the guard, because he’d seen your face and it’s like, no, actually I could also not, especially as a criminal trying to get out, better to go down for attempted robbery, rather than murder? It was just a really cheap gotcha

God, you just reminded me how SO MUCH of that opening heist in GTA V makes no sense at all.

The assumption is that Michael was selling out Brad, Trevor, and the driver. So, once Trevor kills the guard, the police decide jumping them at the initial point was no longer an option and storm the bank. Well, Michael is killing police right along Trevor and Brad. Why… Why is he allowed in witness protection? They didn’t get Trevor, the target, and Michael killed DOZENS of people. He should have been put on death row right then and there.