OnRush is Letting Me Relive my Glory Days as a Racer

Open Thread is where Waypoint staff talk about games and other things we find interesting. This is where you'll see us chat about games, music, movies, TV, and even sports, and welcome you to participate in the discussion.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://waypoint.vice.com/en_us/article/gyk7mb/onrush-racing-splatoon-unconventional

The more I hear people talk about Onrush the more I’m intrigued by it. Does anyone know if it has split screen multiplayer? I’ve been slowly getting my wife back into gaming with Mario Kart 8 Deluxe, but she still isn’t a huge fan of us competing against each other. A co-op multiplayer racer would work really well for us.

Not sure this really counts as unexpected, but the Guitar Hero games really helped fill the hole that no longer being part of an orchestra program left once I graduated high school. It offered a way of interacting with music that was low commitment but still skill based with a high ceiling and easily measured improvement, and playing with the virtual band is a much more full experience than practicing music on your own.

I love cleaning up and organizing things in my life. A couple games scratch that same itch really well. Resident Evil 4 with it’s inventory system, and The Beginner’s Guide with the one level where you just clean a slightly messy house for as long as you want.

God, The Beginner’s guide is good for so many reasons but I would pay legit money for just that little house cleaning level as a stand alone thing.

I’m loving this game. Now if only my teammates would stop trying to run me down…