Ruined by the fans

I recently read this article about how Rick and Morty’s creators are revolting against their “bad fans”. These fans (and seeing lots of conservative R&M memes) are actually the reason I never watched the show, even though it’s created by the creator of Community, which is one of my favorite shows.

Anyway, what are some shows/movies/games/music you never got into because of “bad fans”? And did you ever change your mind about it?

I wrote off My Chemical Romance when I was in high school due to their fans, but then a few of their songs were some of the first Guitar Hero 2 DLC and were really fun to play, and oops now The Black Parade is one of my favorite albums and I’ve been listening to it for the last 12 years.

Fans don’t really ruin things for me because if they suck, I just don’t interact with them.

Undertale. The fandom seemed really aggressively zealous about the game. It’s too bad because that game seems fine?

Now that you mention it, the Guitar Hero/Rock Band boom opened me up to a lot of music I never would’ve interacted with, and did the same for a lot of my friends. It was also interesting to watch as a fellow GameStop employee, who had been raised around hip-hop and R&B and never listened to rock music before then, became a HUGE Nirvana and '90s alternative fan thanks to Rock Band. For the past 8 years, or so, he’s been playing in several local bands at any given time, so it’s strange to think back to the 17-year-old version of him who “didn’t like music”.

Thanks!

Joke answer: Videogames.

Serious answer: Videogames.

Bandai Namco’s determination to market Dark Souls in the way it does has managed to flip public perception of the series on it’s head. I remember when Dark Souls The First was first gaining popularity, folks would actually talk about how welcoming fans were. Then the Prepare to Die marketing campaign happened, and between then and Dark Souls 2’s release Souls fans got associated with elitist knobs.