So, uh, should we talk about the DISASTER that was that Gearbox Conference?

I really feel bad for the devs who had to be sidelined to Randy’s magic show, and then see their work fall apart on stage in front of thousands of people.

Here’s the trailers though:

Borderlands 3

Borderlands Game of the Year:

As an editor, I was pulling my hair out when I saw Windows Movie Maker. Like the comedy in these games, it seems their editing tech hasn’t moved since 2012.

My hot take is that Borderlands is fun to play with friends and I will play borderlands 3 with friends and probably have a very nice time indeed.

17 Likes

I really like the new character designs but otherwise I never really enjoyed playing the Borderlands games, and the one thing it had, art style and procedural guns have also eroded in interest for me.
That stage presence and technical mess on that stream was a cascade of second hand embarrassment though, dear me.

1 Like

I kind of feel bad for pointing at it, but not so much because it was Mr. Medieval Times himself, Randy Pitchford, putting his terrible face and magic all over the presentation.

I’ve always thought Borderlands looked and played fantastically, but the juvenile writing always held these games back for me.

3 Likes

Pitchford, ever the magician, makes my interest in Gearbox developed games… DISAPPEAR.

14 Likes

I was pretty burned out by the end of Borderlands 2, but Tales from the Borderlands was so godamn good that i want to play it because i want to see those characters.

2 Likes

Borderlands is very good and probably the most queer game series from a major developer and that’s good.

I just wish Randy Pitchford didn’t come around every time the studio ever does any Borderlands related PR to take all the credit and proceed to embarrass everyone much more than an outdated meme ever could.