Synthesizer Chat

Didn’t see one so thought it would be cool to make a Synth thread.

It would be cool to see what other people have been using whether it’s good old analog hardware or some interesting software synths that do unusual things. Also it’d be great if people could share some of the more synth heavy music they have been listening to lately!

At the moment I’ve been using the Roland JD-Xi a lot which is a analog digital hybrid synth. I find despite it lacking in depth in a lot of places you can get some really cool (sometimes glitchy stuff out of it which is pretty cool even if not intended, the LFO can do some weird things).

I’ve also been listening to Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith a lot who does some really interesting things with modular synthesis especially with Buchla systems to create these kind of sound gardens. Her new album “The Kid” is pretty amazing.

I’m a terrible musician but I have had my eye on two synths, Beringer’s Deep Mind 12 (seems like a really good polysynth for the money) and a Sub 37.

I’m also keeping my eye out for Teenage Engineering’s OP-Z (I love their pocket series), but I’m not that big on the fact that I’ll probably need an iPad to take full advantage of it.

I’m not really one to buy or use hardware synths; I tried it out when I was younger with a Nord Lead but find I just like using soft synths more.