Tekken Talk (Tekken Players of the world, Unite and take over)

Just thought I’d carve out a little piece of internet for some Tekken Talk, since I didn’t see a dedicated post.

I used to play casually with friends and family and have finally decided to take things a bit more serious. The Tekken community has been really cool and friendly so far, even helpful. I’m really enjoying learning the game on a deeper level; the systems are very satisfying.

What do you think about the new characters and where the scene is at the moment?

Who do you enjoy playing as?

I’m also interested in hearing about others people’s History with the franchise. It’s such a beloved nostalgia inducing entity.

Yo, I just finished playing Tekken 7 for the first time since the week it came out. I really liked it but got sidetracked by Zelda or Mario or something. So, yeah I am down for some Tekken Talk.

I started playing Tekken with Tekken 3 when I was a kid and it holds a special place in my heart because it was the only game that my dad and I would play together. I would play with friends but they would get frustrated because I was better than them (I’m not great, but I owned the game and they didn’t), but my dad and I were on the same level so I always had the most fun playing with him. We eventually moved up to Tekken Tag, and later Tekken 5. (I skipped 4 because I remember renting it and finding it too slow).

Then I moved out and stopped being that into it. I bought Tekken 6 and Tekken Tag 2, but the rosters were so huge that getting back into it was a little intimidating. I also didn’t really have anyone to play with. Most of the roommates I’ve lived with since moving out liked playing video games but were put off by Tekken’s giant move lists and rosters. Smash always won out as the household fighting game.