The best mini-games within games

This is something I talk about constantly on twitter and something I always want more discussion about. If video games are going to put mini-games in them, they should be good. Like, entertaining, well-designed, cool shit. The big two for me are fishing minis and cooking minis. Lemme preface: I love cooking, I do it for a living, only 2-3 games ever have made a good cooking mini-game. MMOs are the worst at this. Same with Fishing.

TL:dr, So please, tell me what your favorite or what the best made mini-games in video games are.

for me

Fishing: Dark Cloud 2, Breath of Fire 3
Cooking: Suikoden 2
General fun crafting: The Star Ocean series where sometimes you accidentally cook a pile of shit.

I put way too many hours into Demon Tower in NitW.

The mini games in the original Pokemon Stadium. I probably spent more time in there than in the main part of the game.

Triple Triad is still so so good and I would play a standalone of it a la Gwent in a heartbeat.

Haha. I started reading this and immediately this popped into my head. Demon Tower was an incredible game within a game. I spent many hours getting to the end of it. Loved it.

shit I must have had a stroke to forget about triple triad AKA the only good card game before Gwent came along.

Chao Garden, aka the only justifiable reason to play Sonic Adventure 2.

Dark Cloud 2 has fantastic fishing not only for the minigame itself, but everything you can do with the fish afterwards, cooking, racing, contests. It’s awesome

That said I also love Spheda in there, even at its most frustrating.

Triple Triad is easy to understand and I love me some card games too

One thing I’ll say is that I almost liked Tetra Master in FF9 more than the rest of the game, which is saying a lot for me. I don’t know if it would hold up today after I’ve played a ton of board games and mobile games, but at the time, I sunk hours and days and weeks into optimizing my build.

Ohhhhh this is good.