The Best Way to Understand the Complexity of Games Is Playing Them With a Kid

A pretty common refrain about new parents is excitement over a time when they'll be able to play games with their kids. My oldest daughter is four years old, and outside of picking the different princess characters in Mario Kart on Switch and watching them immediately spin out, she's shown zero interest in games. Honestly? Fine. I spend all day thinking about games, so having the hours with my kids separate from that world has been refreshing.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.vice.com/en_us/article/qjp3gv/the-best-way-to-understand-the-complexity-of-games-is-playing-them-with-a-kid

I loved reading this. I’m an art teacher, and worked for years as a preschool teacher, and growing up was always the sole young adult cousin with the patience for extended play with the “surprise-baby” toddler cousin who was 15 years younger than the rest of us. It’s been interesting vicariously playing/seeing certain games ‘through’ kids I work/play with to recognize elements of design I’d taken for granted.

Like, I’d always been aware that Kirby’s theming skewed younger than, say, Mario, but I’d thought of them as roughly mechanically comparable for years until about 2004, when I was loading up ROMs with my then-6-year-old cousin, and discovered that, while Mario World was a recipe for instant death, Kirby’s Dream Land 3 was totally doable. Being able to float over pits, and to pull me in as a co-op player, as well as subtle aspects of the level designs themselves, clearly made it more friendly to a younger player.