The Most Slept-On Titles in Gaming

I am 100% certain that everyone has a game that they love with all of their heart, but whenever you bring it up to others you need to explain why you adore it so.

I would love to know what games hold that place for the good people of Waypoint! I’ll start:

For me it /has/ to be Viva Piñata/Trouble in Paradise. When I got my 360 my parents got it for me as well because it looked cute. Honestly if they didn’t pick it up I probably would have slept on it too. But the minute I started playing it had me hooked. The loop was simple but addictive. You tend to your garden to attract piñata. Tending to your garden involves, growing flowers, digging ponds, building homes, and caring for you Piñata. It’s beautiful and the music (done by Grant Kirkhope) is outstanding.

The game rewards experimentation, feeding your piñata the right food can result in them changing colours, learning a trick, or turning into a new Piñata altogether! Plus the amount of juggling you have to do in order to grow your garden, while also caring for your current Piñata, makes it feel almost like an RTS. I could go on for days about how great VP is. I’m gonna take a step back though.

The floor is yours!

The 2003 game XIII STILL has one of the most distinctive and well preserved art styles of any game, and it was more or less forgotten about even at release; it has a lot of flaws but god almighty it needs more props.

Sengoku Basara 4 on PS3. Game is fantastic, was released super under the radar here, people don’t want to try it but it is so much fun.

A story about my uncle is an absolutely beautiful and the best first person platformer I have ever played. YES, even better than mirror’s edge. Too bad that studio is relegated to making Goat Simulator DLC now. What a damn waste.

Is a “slept-on” game one that’s fantastic but very few people have heard of it, or one lots of people may have heard of but don’t realise it’s actually great?

D E V I L D A G G E R S