Thought's on STEM? And Cool/Scary new Tech

I’m currently doing a PhD in physics and am using some machine-learning stuff in my research project. I totally agree with what I’ve heard from Austin and Danielle about how blind trust in science is obviously NOT the correct mindset to have. I DO think, however, that one thing STEM does really well (if taught properly) is teach people how to apply the scientific method (i.e. testing and validating a hypothesis with the help of research and experiments). And I think this is a skill that can be applied to all sorts of situations in real life. I do NOT think that priority should be given to STEM over non-STEM fields, and I am incredibly lucky to have a close relationship with music and art through my family. I super believe that this balance is necessary and helpful for keeping perspective and maintain ethical standards when doing research. I’d be interested in any thoughts on the future of STEM education, as my current life goal is to become a STEM professor at a teaching (not research-focused) university in the U.S.

At the same time, I am morbidly fascinated with the direction in which we are headed. Here’s some stuff I posted a while back in another forum, curious to see what you guys think? Like if you were to take these headlines together you might think we got some Real Deal androids comin’ our way soon (although soon is probably decades from how, but definitely within our lifetimes). I’d be interested to catch your thoughts and see if y’all have any articles/videos of a related nature to share.

I’m def not a STEMboy but as Important If True has taught me, it’s very fun to talk about and be afraid of and or be horny for robots.

LOL. I think this calls for a sexiest robots in video games thread.

Chibi Robo, thats the entire thread, and all you need

and if you absolutely MUST have more then I suppose I’ll give you,

Metal Sonic

Oh oops. I already made the thread :sweat_smile:

stemlord here with the stemleaks