Visual Novel Maker: Release Date announced

http://store.steampowered.com/app/495480/Visual_Novel_Maker/

Created by the people who brought you RPG maker, it’s a Visual Novel Maker. It comes out on the 16th of November. Looking at the videos provided, it seems very similar to Ren’Py, the current most popular VN engine, but with substantial bonus of having a user interface that more people would find easier to use, making it more accessible.

I think this could be an interesting tool, though I’m fairly confident that it’s going to have a price that will scare off most hobbyists. Would any of you consider buying this?

i am the type who’d want to program the juicy details in, or use HyperCard for it since I’m a old tech nerd

what’s the price? I don’t see it listed on the page.

That being said, I’m working on a visual novel so this is of high interest to me.

There’s no price that’s been released yet, as far as anyone can tell. I poked around for the same answer and all I saw were a bunch of unanswered direct questions to the developers about how much it’d be; given their usual fare, I’d be willing to put good money (pfft) on the $30 to $40 range, minimum.

If you’re looking for a similar program that’ll probably cost a lot less, though, I do know that TyranoBuilder has been out for a while and is just shy of $10 on Steam right now. The HUD is essentially the same as VNMaker’s, and I haven’t been able to turn up that many features VNMaker will have that TyranoBuilder doesn’t.

i’m in favour of anything that gets game dev tools into more hands, and a boost to the exploding VN scene can only be a good thing for the future of the medium

I love TyranoBuilder and have used it for multiple games, but I am still excited about this because I assume that it will include a massive set of default art-assets the way RPG Maker does. I love how playing with RPG Maker feels like having a sticker-book.