What's a good gaming mouse these days?

I currently have a Razer DeathAdder that I’ve been using since 2013 or 2014, but holding the right mouse button has been flaky lately and also literally five minutes ago something in the mousewheel broke and now it spins differently and fails to register any movement. My previous mouse was also a Razer DeathAdder.

Even though Razer is kind of a trash company and always has been, I really appreciate the ergonomics (especially the size) of the DeathAdder and find the prospect of switching to a different mouse – almost all of which are noticeably smaller or at least look smaller on a store shelf – a little daunting. So I figured I would throw it out there for discussion: what gaming mice are we using these days, especially for the larger-handed among us?

While not exactly what you’d consider a “gaming mouse” probably, I’ve been using the anker horizontal mouse and I’ve been liking it.

Looking for the ratatouille of gaming mice, personally. Put it in my head and let it play the game for me.

2 Likes

I was just about to say “Razer is a trash company but their mice are dope” but I see you’re already there.

3 Likes

The Steel Series Rival 500 is the only one I’ve ever found where I can comfortably press most of the buttons. There’s only two that are a bit of a stretch and I can still use them if I map them to something that doesn’t need to be done with split second reaction or even better something that I need to be sure I don’t do by accident.

I particularly like the largest thumb button being a downward press toward the desk rather than in toward the mouse body and the fact that it has additional small buttons to press with the first and second finger where I already have most of my mouse dexterity instead of putting all the extra buttons on the thumb.

The profile manager and customization software is pretty decent too.

I’ll be very disappointed if I ever can’t get a new one and have to switch back to something else.