When a Game Just Feels Like Home

Open Thread is where Waypoint staff talk about games and other things we find interesting. This is where you'll see us chat about games, music, movies, TV, and even sports, and welcome you to participate in the discussion.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://waypoint.vice.com/en_us/article/d3ejk7/when-a-game-just-feels-like-home

Perhaps in a different way than is intended, this is something I feel like people feel about MMOs and other persistent online games. Once you spend enough time in a space, particularly a shared social space, it becomes completely and inescapably familiar. Some games literally let you set up a home with furniture and mementos. I’ve been playing Black Desert online for a couple of years now, and I definitely feel like there’d be some real nostalgia around Velia when and if I ever quit the game.

I find that a lot of BioWare RPGs have great spaces that feel cozy and safe, even if the actual aesthetics don’t necessarily feel that way. The Normandy (SR-1 and SR-2), the Ebon Hawk, and DA:I’s Haven all felt delightfully pleasant and welcoming due to your friends just hanging out and being at ease in those spaces. And I love how those spaces are used to de-escalate tension in between action-heavy missions, and how violating it feels when those spaces are trespassed by enemies and interlopers. I suppose it is similar to the Kreuzbasar, although the “don’t trust anyone” mentality of Shadowrun made it so I never felt at ease in any space during the campaign.