Why have a feature if your going to remove it?

I’m may not be able to write this properly and I’m not expecting for everyone to agree with me but just want to get my thoughts out and get some ideas from others.

When Nintendo was releasing Fire emblem fates they were removing the touching face mini game. It is a little weird thing that doesn’t have a major impact on the gameplay so it not something to be rioting for but this followed by other things Nintendo was removing from other games like TMS #FE and Xenoblade. My question is why have those features in the first place if your going to remove or alter them in other places? Would it been better if everyone got the same version?

I am by no means an expert, but most Japanese developers tend to develop for Japan first.
Features like the face-touching are, I suppose, more accepted by a Japanese audience (or at least; the developer’s perception of their Japanese audience).

Once Nintendo of America and their localization team gets involved they take a hard look at the game and decide if some of these features can be considered inappropriate for western audiences. This can lead to such features being removed.

Localization teams generally are not deeply involved in the actual game-design.

Some content just makes certain games harder to market in some regions than it does in others. Face rubbing in Fire Emblem Fates was completely inessential to the experience of playing the game (any bonuses derived from it are automatically given in the western release), but more to the point, it’s a mechanic that NOA felt enough people in the wes would find weird/skeevy that it was removed during the localization process.