./' work sucks / I know ./' (jobs thread)

what do you folx do for a living? how is it?

I’ve been working as a freelance dev, editor, and writer for a few months. all the typical upsides & downsides of freelancing. It’s nice to have the time to write and work on projects, but it’s fairly stressful and the freelance dev work is never that exciting. at least, not compared to the projects that full-time or contract devs get roped in on

I’ve been looking to make the move to full-time, but I’d really love to be moving into games somehow. It seems like there are a fair amount of Unity positions floating around here in NY at game dev companies, creative agencies, sims companies, etc., which is nice. I’ve been putting a portfolio together to apply to them, but still a month or so out from having anything that I could reasonably bring to a job listing.

tell me bout you

I’m a preschool teacher, I’m paid dirt but it’s rewarding af. I love my job.

I die slowly in an electronics manufacturing factory.

Going through interviews rn. Job hunting is exhausting but at least people are starting to respond to my applications.

I’m a part-time math tutor for this tutoring center; I mainly help middle-elementary schoolers, but there are a few high schoolers there, too. Our curriculum is a little rote, but I try to slip some interesting mathematics in there every once in a while; been reading up a lot on the history of mathematics and blending that into my teaching, since I think the context behind these numbers and equations is so, so important.

Quit my admin job to make music.

Probably a really bad idea.

Conveyancing clerk in a small law firm.

Yeah. I’ve been going through the job hunt/application/interview process it for six months, since a career change. It is difficult to verbalize how inexorable and complete the emotional and psychic cost of it is. Crushing.