'World of Warcraft' Changed Video Games and Wrecked Lives

World of Warcraft was not Drew’s only addiction. There was alcohol, food, and smoking, too, but World of Warcraft went on for so long, and was so all encompassing. It still casts a shadow, years later, after he’s managed to get so many of his addictions under control. He lost two jobs over the game. His health fell into disarray. Friendships would come and go.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.vice.com/en_us/article/ywaj4w/world-of-warcraft-changed-video-games-and-wrecked-lives
1 Like

This hit really close to home. On one hand, I partly credit wow for the life I have now. In a good way. I started playing in 2005, a 13 year old Russian kid with only some basic English skills. At one point, after a year or so of playing, I remember telling a party member that I was 14 and from Russia and they thought I was joking. I can still feel the aftershocks of the rush I got from that 13 years later. I can be so good at English that it’ll mask who I actually am? Holy crap, I’m gonna do THAT then. Fellow ESL folks might relate. Language became everything to me. I took that so close to heart that I am now a published writer living in an English-speaking country, something I always wanted.

On the other hand, some of those stories are way way relatable. More than I’m conformable with tbh.