Your Loading Screen is Lying to You, aka When 90% isn't 90%

One of the things that’s always fascinated me is progress bars on loading screens. I’m sure we’ve all had that experience of watching a game load to 99% only to suspect it’s frozen as it stays at 99% for 10 seconds, or, watched in agony as it creeped up to 50%, then breathed a sigh of relief as it covers the second half in a tenth of the time.

I’ve never really had an opportunity to check how inaccurate the progress bar is… until I started playing a little-known game called Red Dead Redemption 2. RDR2 doesn’t have a progress bar on its loading screen, but it does pop up a “90%” notification. Perfect!

For the last two weeks, I’ve been timing the load screens and marking the appearance of the 90% icon, and now I’m sharing it here (after I excitedly explained it all to my wife who looked at me like I had two heads. Also, I’m a government statistician who hasn’t been allowed to work in a month and is going a little stircrazy).

All loads are from a clean start, usually with the console (PS4 Pro with a Seagate 2GB SSHD installed) powered off in between. My stopwatch goes to thousandths of a second, but my fingers don’t, so all observations (11 so far) were rounded to tenths.

Appearance of the 90% indicator:
Avg 61.7s
Min 60.6s
Max 62.9s

Total load time :: When 90% should appear
Avg 77.8s :: 70.0s
Min 61.8s :: 55.6s
Max 98.5s :: 88.7s

Distribution of actual load % when 90% icon appeared:
< 75% 4
75% - 85% 5
85% - 95% 0
>95% 2

By far my favorite part is that not once has the 90% indicator appeared anywhere between 85 - 95%.

The “first 90%” always took 61.5s ± 1.5s. The “last 10%” took anywhere between 1.2s and 36.9s. It seems to me like they just have a trigger for the icon to appear once the load goes over a minute.

Anyway, like I said before - stircrazy. I should probably add a discussion topic or something, so…